2015 Better Newspaper Contest


There are ten (10) divisions. OPA Business Membership Newspapers, Divisions 1-8, are determined by newspaper circulation and frequency shown on the October 2015 U.S. Postal Service statement of total paid circulation (PS Form 3526, line 15C) plus the number of paid electronic subscriptions as reported to OPA.
DIVISION 1 – Daily newspapers with circulation of more than 8,000
DIVISIONS 2-7 will be determined when all entries have been received. Entries will be divided as equally as possible into two daily and four weekly circulation divisions. Select daily or weekly publication on the contest entry form.
Division 8 – Semi-, Twin and Tri-Weekly Newspapers
Division 9 – Sustaining Membership Newspapers
Division 10 – College Newspapers
A list of participating newspapers sorted by division will be emailed to publishers and posted on the OPA website within one week after the contest deadline.
For divisions 1-7, a newspaper may elect to compete in a higher circulation division of the same publication frequency at the time of entry, but may not compete in a lower division.

Contest Period:

The 2015 OPA Better Newspaper Contest period is from
January 1, 2015, through December 31, 2015.

Entry Deadline:

Monday, February 8, 2016 – All entries must be postmarked by this date.

Annual Convention Dates:

June 10-11, 2016
Sheraton Hotel in downtown Oklahoma City

Awards Banquet Date:

Saturday, June 11, 2016

Entry Materials:

The contest rules and events are available below to view online or download in PDF format. The contest entry form, entry/mailing labels, and tips for entering the contest are also available to download in PDF format. If you have questions, e-mail Lisa Sutliff or Jennifer Gilliland or call (405) 499-0020 or 1-888-815-2672 (toll-free in Oklahoma).

Previous Contest Results

Contact Information

3601 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 499-0020
(888) 815-2672

Toll-Free in OK