Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame Inductions

Fri, April 9, 201011:45 AM

Nine journalists will be honored during the 40th annual induction ceremonies of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame. Master of ceremonies will be Mark Thomas, executive vice president of the Oklahoma Press Association.

When: 11:45 a.m., April 9, luncheon.

Where: Ballroom at the University of Central Oklahoma’s Nigh University Center
750 E. Main St, Edmond, Okla.
Get directions from Mapquest

Tickets: $15. Call 974-5121 by April 6.


The program will include the dedication of a new exhibition hall in the Nigh University Center and a 40th anniversary address by Boettcher, who currently teaches at the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication at OU.

The 2010 inductees are Gean B. Atkinson, Oklahoma City journalist; Mike Boettcher, CNN correspondent; Ray Dyer and Sean Dyer, co-publishers of the El Reno Tribune; Susan Boling Ellerbach, managing editor of the Tulsa World; Melba Lovelace, columnist for The Oklahoman; Andy Rieger, managing editor of The Norman Transcript; Bill Sherman, religion writer for the Tulsa World; and Jack Stone, retired executive editor of The Anadarko Daily News.

Gean B. Atkinson
Atkinson (1944- ) has written three books and hosted programs on WKY-AM 930 and KTOK-AM 1000 radio. He served in the state Legislature and as a governor’s communications director. He was director of the Joint Information Bureau of the United Arab Emirates during Operation Desert Shield/Storm as a Navy captain. Atkinson has been corporate communications director for Express Personnel Services and a journalism instructor at the University of Central Oklahoma.

Mike Boettcher
Boettcher (1954- ) helped launch 24-hour news in 1980 when he performed the first live satellite report for fledgling CNN. He worked for Oklahoma City stations KEBC-AM 1340, KTOK-AM 1000 and KWTV-9 as a political and investigative reporter. He worked for NBC, covering international news on several fronts and served as chief correspondent for CNN’s terrorism investigation unit. Boettcher has won a Peabody, four National Emmys and a National Headliner award. He recently spent a year embedded in Iraq and Afghanistan, during which he reported for ABC, BBC and The Oklahoman.

Ray Dyer
Ray Dyer (1957- ), co-publisher of The El Reno Tribune and Mustang News, started throwing the Tribune at age 11 and has worked in every area of the paper. In 2002, Dyer was named editor of the Sooner Catholic. He served on several Oklahoma Press Association committees, El Reno Chamber of Commerce board, El Reno Main Street board, Saint Katharine Drexel Retirement Center board and as a reading mentor for El Reno Public Schools.

Sean Dyer
Sean Dyer (1960- ), co-publisher of The El Reno Tribune and Mustang News, has been an active member of the Oklahoma Press Association for more than 25 years and a third-generation OPA president. He also worked at the Piedmont Gazette and the Okarche Chieftain. Dyer is president of the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation, past-president of the El Reno Rotary Club and Saint Katharine Drexel Retirement Center board. He is a board member at El Reno Blessing Baskets.

Susan Boling Ellerbach
Ellerbach (1955- ), managing editor of the Tulsa World since 1995, joined the World in 1985 as a business writer before being promoted to business editor, state editor, and Sunday editor in 1994. She was a reporter and editor at the Tahlequah Daily Press and managing editor of the Tahlequah American. She’s a member of APME and AP/ONE, where she served as president. She remains active in Leadership Oklahoma and has served on the boards of Blue Cross/Blue Shield’s Caring Program for Children and the Child Abuse Network

Melba Lovelace
Lovelace (1930- ) came to OPUBCO as a secretary and headed the typing pool before she started writing "Melba’s Swap Shop” in The Daily Oklahoman in 1977. After writing the column seven days a week for 17 years — about 4,000 of them — she retired in 1992. She did television shows, a regular radio show, taught cooking classes at UCO and wrote 16 books of recipes, crafts, quilts and household hints. She continues to write the column on a weekly basis for The Oklahoman and NewsOK.com.

John A. "Andy” Rieger
Rieger (1957- ), managing editor of The Norman Transcript, has worked on Oklahoma newspapers for more than 30 years. In high school, he was a Transcript carrier, mailroom and switchboard employee. He joined the Oklahoma City Times copy desk, moving to police and city hall reporting beats and editing a community section. He left to co-found a weekly newspaper in Noble and attend graduate school. He was an assistant professor and faculty adviser to the student newspaper at the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication. Rieger is chairman of the advisory committee of the Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation.

Bill Sherman
Sherman (1945- ), religion writer at the Tulsa World since 2000, joined the paper as a copy editor in 1983 while studying at Rhema Bible Training Center. He moved to slot and assistant city editor and became night editor in 1994. He worked at the Albuquerque Journal and the Burlington (Wis.) Standard Press. He was honored by the national Religion Newswriters Association and with the Russell Bennett Faith and Courage Award from the Tulsa Interfaith Alliance for equitable and fair coverage of religions.

Jack Stone
Stone (1937- ) worked for The Anadarko Daily News for 38 years until his retirement as executive editor in 1996. He joined the newspaper as an advertising intern, and then covered police for The Tulsa Tribune for seven months before returning to Anadarko. More than 7,000 installments of his columns, "The Cornerstone,” appeared in The Daily News over 30 years. His many awards include the Oklahoma Press Association’s Beachy Musselman Award. He has served on a multitude of community boards.