Jeff Shultz takes office as OPA President

Jeff Shultz, owner and publisher of The Garvin County News Star, took office as president of the Oklahoma Press Association July 1, 2012.
OPA members elected Shultz as president at the OPA Convention on June 7, 2012, at the Reed Center in Midwest City, Okla. Shultz, who succeeds Rusty Ferguson as president, will serve a one-year term.
Jeff Mayo, associate publisher and general manager of the Sequoyah County Times, was elected to a one-year term as vice president. Gracie Montgomery, co-publisher of The Purcell Register, was re-elected to a second one-year term as treasurer.
Ted Streuli, managing editor of The Journal Record, was elected to a three-year term as a board director. Others directors are Jeff Funk, Enid News & Eagle; Robby Trammell, The Oklahoman; Dayva Spitzer, Sayre Record & Beckham County Democrat; Brian Blansett, Shawnee News-Star, and Mike Brown, Neighbor News. Ferguson, publisher of The Cleveland American, will serve a one-year term as past president. Mark Thomas is executive vice president of the association.
"This is a very challenging time for Oklahoma newspapers," said Shultz. "We are annually being threatened with changes in postal service, elimination of legal notices and advances in technology.
"It takes heroic efforts by newspapers to protect the public's right to public notices as well as covering the local news that's so important to our readers."