Congratulations OPA Award Winners

The Oklahoma Press Association presented its Better Newspaper Contest Awards during the OPA Annual Convention, June 10-11, at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Oklahoma City. Also announced during the awards banquet were the recipients of the OPA H. Milt Phillips Award and the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation’s Beachy Musselman Award. Receiving the H. Milt Phillips Award was Dr. Terry M. Clark, director of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame and professor of journalism at the University of Central Oklahoma. The Milt Phillips Award recipient is selected by the OPA Board of Directors. Receiving the ONF Beachy Musselman Award was Andy Rieger, who retired as managing editor of The Norman Transcript in 2015. The recipient of the Musselman Award is selected by the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation Board of Trustees. Winners of this year’s Sequoyah Awards also were announced at the OPA Convention. In the daily divisions, winners were Enid News & Eagle, Stillwater News Press and Tahlequah Daily Press. Sequoyah winners in the weekly divisions were The Madill Record, Oologah Lake Leader, Midwest City Beacon, Mustang News and The Grove Sun. Broken Arrow Ledger was named the Sequoyah winner in the sustaining member division, and The Oklahoma Daily at the University of Oklahoma was the winner in the college division.

A complete list of winners in the 2015 OPA Better Newspaper Contest is available on the OPA website at