Congratulations OPA Award Winners!

The Oklahoma Press Association presented its annual awards at the OPA Awards Banquet on June 5 at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Oklahoma City.
Also announced during the awards banquet were the recipients of the OPA H. Milt Phillips Award and the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation’s Beachy Musselman Award.
Receiving the H. Milt Phillips Award was Joe Worley, former executive editor of the Tulsa World. Receiving the ONF Beachy Musselman Award was Julie DelCour, longtime associate editor of the Tulsa World.
Winners of this year’s Sequoyah Award also were announced at the OPA Convention. In the daily divisions, winners were The Journal Record, McAlester News-Capital and Tahlequah Daily Press. Sequoyah winners in the weekly divisions were Mustang Times, Coweta American, McIntosh County Democrat, The Newcastle Pacer and El Reno Tribune. Broken Arrow Ledger was named the Sequoyah winner in the sustaining member division, and The O’Colly at Oklahoma State University was the winner in the college division.
A complete list of winners in the 2014 OPA Better Newspaper Contest is available on the OPA website at