Better Newspaper Contest Winners

Congratulations to all the 2013 Oklahoma Press Association Award Winners! Awards were presented Friday, June 13, at the Reed Center in Midwest City. Ray Lokey, publisher of the Johnston County Capital-Democrat, received the Oklahoma Press Association Milt Phillips Award. Gloria Trotter, co-publisher of The Countywide & Sun, was the recipient of the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation's Beachy Musselman Award.

Winners of the 2013 OPA Better Newspaper Contest also were announced. This year's Sequoyah Award winners were the Enid News & Eagle, Claremore Daily Progress, The Journal Record, The Purcell Register, The Bigheart Times, Cherokee Messenger & Republican, Collinsville News, Waurika News-Democrat, El Reno Tribune, Broken Arrow Ledger, and The Daily O'Collegian at Oklahoma State University.

For a complete list of winners in the contest, a news release, congratulations ad for all winners and an award winning logo, click on this link –