Award winners announced at OPA Convention

The Oklahoma Press Association presented its Better Newspaper Contest Awards during the OPA Annual Convention, June 9-10, at the Skirvin Hotel in downtown Oklahoma City.
Also announced during the awards banquet were the recipients of the OPA
H. Milt Phillips Award and the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation’s Beachy Musselman Award.
Receiving the H. Milt Phillips Award was Gracie Montgomery, co-publisher of The Purcell Register. The OPA Board of Directors selects the recipient of the Milt Phillips Award.
James Beaty, managing editor at the McAlester News-Capital, received the ONF Beachy Musselman Award.
Winners of this year’s Sequoyah Awards also were announced at the OPA Convention. In the daily divisions, winners were The Norman Transcript, Stillwater News Press and Tahlequah Daily Press. Sequoyah winners in the weekly divisions were The Purcell Register, Eufaula Indian Journal, Midwest City Beacon, Tri-County Herald in Meeker and the El Reno Tribune. Broken Arrow Ledger was named the Sequoyah winner in the sustaining member division, and The O'Colly at Oklahoma State University was the winner in the college division. The Sequoyah Award is the highest honor in the OPA Better Newspaper Contest.
A complete list of winners in the 2016 OPA Better Newspaper Contest and more information on other awards is available on the OPA website at