RSS Feed

ONG Column Winner

Jeff Mullin

July 2017 Column Winner
Collusion confusion, is it real or mere illusion?

ONG Editorial Winner

Kim Poindexter

July 2017 Editorial Winner
If Lankford says Russia meddled, it's probably true

  • September Publisher available for download

    The September issue of The Oklahoma Publisher is available for download. Read about The O'Colly partnering with the Stillwater News Press; Part II of the ONF Summer Interns' stories; and a reminder that it's time to file your Statement of Ownership with the US Postal Service. 

    To download the September issue, click here. 

  • Statements of Ownership must be published in October

    Don't forget to file your annual Statement of Ownership, Management and Circulation (Form 3526) with the U.S. Postal Service by October 1. The form also must be published in your newspaper. Dailies must publish by October 10; non-dailies by October 31. The form is available on the OPA website at

  • Attorney General Holds Open Meeting & Records Seminars

    Attorney General Mike Hunter's office will host six regional seminars on the state's Open Meeting and Open Records Acts this fall. The seminars are being held in partnership with the Oklahoma Press Association and are open to the public. They are designed to answer questions concerning the state’s open meeting and records laws and inform elected or appointed officials about their responsibility under the acts. There is no cost or registration required to attend.

    The meetings will be held from 1 to 4 p.m. at six locations across Oklahoma: Sept. 28, Ardmore; Oct. 12, Woodward; Oct. 19, Owasso; Nov. 2, McAlester; Nov. 16, Oklahoma City; Dec. 7, Altus.

    » Find out more info on the seminars and locations

  • News Press and O'Colly form partnership

    The O’Colly, Oklahoma State University’s collegiate newspaper, and Stillwater News Press just announced a partnership. The O’Colly will be inserted three days a week into the Stillwater News Press. Barbara Allen, OSU director of student media and O’Colly adviser, and Dale Brendel, publisher of the News Press, said the partnership is a win-win for both newspapers, and for readers. Allen and Brendel also said they are talking about the possibility of collaborating on some projects together.

  • OU to form delegation of journalists to visit Pakistan

    The Gaylord College of Journalism & Mass Communication is seeking journalists who are interested in participating in a two-week visit to Pakistan in early December 2017 (Dec. 1-14). The delegation will visit media companies in Islamabad and Karachi, engage in roundtable discussions with journalists and explore cultural sites. This is a reciprocal delegation corresponding to seven delegations of Pakistani journalists who have visited Oklahoma during the past two years. The U.S. State Department's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs funds the project. For members of the delegation, round-trip airfare, hotel accommodation, local transportation, visa fees and a per diem allowance for food and incidentals will be paid. 

    To apply, send your resume' and a statement of interest to Kathy Adams in Gaylord College (, 405-325-2723). Applications are due on Sept. 15, 2017. For additional questions about the project, contact Joe Foote (, 405-413-3972).

  • Order OPA Press Cards before Football Season

    Two types of 2017 Press cards are available. High quality photo ID press cards (with clips) can be ordered by business member newspapers for $5 each. The hard, plastic badges – usable for the 2017 calendar year only – feature the staff member's mugshot, along with your newspaper’s name and phone number. View more information at or download the order form.

    FREE press cards are also available for the 2017 calendar year. They do not feature a staff member's name or photo, but you can write the newspaper name on the back. Simply email and specify the number of free press cards you need.

  • Contest changes announced in July Publisher

    The July issue of The Oklahoma Publisher is available for download. This month's publication features some of the exciting changes being made to the Oklahoma Press Association's Better Newspaper Contest. The 2017 contest will feature 20 categories with recognition for newspapers and individuals. Download the complete details of categories at

    To download the July issue, click here.

  • Brian Blansett takes office as OPA president

    Brian Blansett was elected as president of the Oklahoma Press Association on June 9, 2017, during the OPA Convention in Oklahoma City.
    Blansett, publisher of the Tri-County Herald in Meeker, will serve a one-year term, beginning July 1. He succeeds Dayva Spitzer, co-publisher of The Sayre Record & Beckham County Democrat, who will serve a one-year term as past president.
    Other officers elected at the meeting were Ted Streuli, The Journal Record, as vice president; and Rusty Ferguson, The Cleveland American, as treasurer. 
    Alan Herzberger from The Oklahoman was elected to a three-year term as director, and John Denny Montgomery from The Purcell Register was re-elected to a three-year term. Elected to complete two years of a vacated three-year term was Zonelle Rainbolt, The Cordell Beacon.
    "It's an honor to be president of the Oklahoma Press Association, but also humbling when you think of the leaders in journalism who have guided the association in the past," said Blansett. "I hope to live up the legacy they have left."
    Blansett said his main goal this year is to guide the board toward establishing a long-term plan that can be used to guide the association's activities for the next three to five years.


  • June Publisher Available for Download

    The June 2017 issue of The Oklahoma Publisher is available to download. This month's publication is full of OPA Convention highlights, including Better Newspaper Contest winners. Also featured are the recipients of the Milt Phillips and Beachy Musselman awards, as well as inductees into the OPA Half and Quarter Century Club. The issue is chock full of photos from the convention as well as newspaper sales, staff changes and columns by OPA President Dayva Spitzer, Dr. Terry M. Clark and Wilma Newby.

    To download the June issue, click here.

  • Award winners announced at OPA Convention

    The Oklahoma Press Association presented its Better Newspaper Contest Awards during the OPA Annual Convention, June 9-10, at the Skirvin Hotel in downtown Oklahoma City.
    Also announced during the awards banquet were the recipients of the OPA H. Milt Phillips Award and the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation’s Beachy Musselman Award.
    Receiving the H. Milt Phillips Award was Gracie Montgomery, co-publisher of The Purcell Register. The OPA Board of Directors selects the recipient of the Milt Phillips Award.
    James Beaty, managing editor at the McAlester News-Capital, received the ONF Beachy Musselman Award.
    Winners of this year’s Sequoyah Awards also were announced at the OPA Convention. In the daily divisions, winners were The Norman Transcript, Stillwater News Press and Tahlequah Daily Press. Sequoyah winners in the weekly divisions were The Purcell Register, Eufaula Indian Journal, Midwest City Beacon, Tri-County Herald in Meeker and the El Reno Tribune. Broken Arrow Ledger was named the Sequoyah winner in the sustaining member division, and The O'Colly at Oklahoma State University was the winner in the college division. The Sequoyah Award is the highest honor in the OPA Better Newspaper Contest.
    A complete list of winners in the 2016 OPA Better Newspaper Contest and more information on other awards is available on the OPA website at

RSS Feed

Contact Information

3601 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 499-0020
(888) 815-2672

Toll-Free in OK